Our Destination

More than a holiday destination, the Barrington Coast is a place of discovery, from the mountains to the sea and everywhere in between.

The Barrington Coast spans 10,053 km² and boasts a world heritage mountain range at its highest point. 

We're famous for our forests, waterways and beaches. We have 15 national parks plus 63 state forests, nature reserves and conservation areas. Our lands are watered by 38 rivers including the only double delta in the southern hemisphere and the state's tallest single drop waterfall at 200m. We also enjoy a pristine triple lakes system and over 190kms of absolutely stunning coastline.


Thunderbolts Lookout, Barrington Tops National Park

Gondwana Rainforest, Barrington Tops

Ellenborough Falls, Elands

Wingham Brush Nature Reserve

Wallis Lake, Forster/Tuncurry

Burgess Beach, Forster

Discover the region

At the Barrington Coast's southernmost tip, you'll find Hawks Nest and Tea Gardens about 2 hours drive north of Sydney. A further hour north will bring you to Pacific Palms, Forster and Tuncurry. Travel westwards past Stroud and Gloucester to the highest point of the Barrington Coast and you can explore the ancient Gondwana rainforests of world heritage Barrington Tops. Follow the Manning River from its source high in Barrington Tops to Wingham, Taree and coastal delta villages and walk the golden sands of Crowdy Bay and Diamond Head.


Destination Management Plan

Completed in December 2017, the Destination Management Plan was a two-year project aimed at developing our tourism economy. 

Find out more

Destination Brand Strategy

Our new destination branding elements are being developed for release soon.

Find out more

MidCoast Council was formed by the NSW Government proclamation on 12 May 2016 through the merger of the former councils of Great Lakes, Greater Taree and Gloucester. This also included the merger of the existing tourism bodies of Great Lakes, Manning Valley and Gloucester... now known as Destination Barrington Coast.